|Frequently Asked Questions
Legacy Brick Program
Cotton... From Seed to Open Boll
Burton Farmers Gin
The Lady "B"
Wehring Shoe & Leather Shop
History Slide Show
||The Wehring Shoe Shop & Residence
William Wehring opened the shoe and leather shop in 1923 in a small building in
the back yard of his residence, which is located next to the Burton Farmers
Gin. Later he built a 12 x 14 ft. building in front of the residence to provide
a more convenient and adequate facility for his leather repair business, which
he operated until his death in 1931.
Otto G. Wehring, William's oldest son, continued the operation of the leather
repair business. In 1933, Otto and wife, Annie, built a 22 x 20 ft. two story
building attached to the residence. First floor was the business and the second
floor was living quarters for their three children. Otto and Annie Wehring
continued the leather repair business until his death in 1976 at age 85.
The residence and leather repair business remained as is and inactive past the
death of Otto and Annie Wehring. Gus A. Wehring, youngest son of Otto and
Annie, acquired the property and all the contents of the leather repair shop in
the spring of 1990. In July 1990, Gus A. Wehring gifted the property, including
the residence, leather repair shop, and contents to Operations Restoration,
Inc., now known as the Texas Cotton Gin Museum.
The Wehring House is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
Visitors can tour the Otto & Annie Wehring Shoe Shop where immediately upon
entering they can sense a feeling of stepping decades back in time. They have
the opportunity to view the cobbler's tools, and with the tour guide's help,
"see" the cobbler working diligently six days a week for forty-five years at a
craft that is fast disappearing. The story of Burton as a small cotton town
would not be complete without the Wehring House and the Otto & Annie
Wehring Shoe Shop.